2023 CFAES Staff Advisory Council Award Recipients Announced

April 11, 2023

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Staff Advisory Council Award recipients! Each year, the Staff Advisory Council recognizes staff in the college who exemplify excellence and dedication to their job. We were thrilled to celebrate their accomplishments at the 2023 Awards and State of the College event on March 23, 2023. Staff Advisory Council past president Emily Wickham was on hand with Dean Cathann Kress to present the awards.


The Shirley Brooks-Jones Citizenship Award

Sarah D

Sarah DeVilbiss

Office Manager and Administrative Associate, Department of Entomology

Sarah DeVilbiss is the Office Manager and Graduate Studies Coordinator for the CFAES Department of Entomology on the Columbus Campus. Sarah works closely with Department Chair Jamie Strange to ensure the department runs smoothly. In her role as the Graduate Studies Coordinator, Sarah supports the department’s graduate students from coordinating the recruitment event through successful graduate student defenses and graduation. She co-instructs the ENTMLGY 8800 graduate student orientation course and guides the students through their program by staying up to date on university policies. Sarah has also temporarily filled the Vice President and Dean’s Executive Assistant role, where she learned the deeper workings of the college that contribute to the values and mission of CFAES. Sarah was recently elected Chair of the CFAES Staff Advisory Council and looks forward to supporting the best interests and professional development of our college staff. Sarah is a team player who is always willing to step in where needs arise. 

Key Values Award


Brianna Schneider

Academic Program Coordinator, Department of Horticulture and Crop Science

Bri Schneider is a double alumna of OSU, where she received her Bachelor’s in Sport Industry (2017) and her Master’s focused on Turfgrass Science through the CFAES Department of Horticulture and Crop Science (2019). Bri worked in the green industry for several years before returning to OSU as the Academic Program Coordinator for HCS. She leads undergraduate recruiting, social media, communications, event planning & alumni engagement to help keep the department moving forward in a positive direction. 

Innovation Award


Sarah Longo

Program Coordinator, Camping and Older Youth, OSU Extension

Sarah Longo is the Program Coordinator for Ohio 4-H Camping and Older Youth programs at the State 4-H Office. She received her bachelor’s degree from the CFAES Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership (ACEL) at OSU (2019) and is currently pursuing her master’s degree in ACEL. Over the last three years, Sarah has been involved in working with statewide teen audiences, developing camping resources, and improving overall organization systems and processes. She has been instrumental in revising the state-level 4-H onboarding process, including developing an onboarding course for new 4-H professionals that has received national accolades. Sarah believes that the most important part of her job is to help equip her colleagues for success and thrives on finding new ways to do so. 

Special Recognition


Cindy Kratzer

Brown County Office Associate, OSU Extension

Cindy serves as the Office Associate for OSU Extension, Brown County.  She has been with OSU Extension for 22 years starting as an Office Assistant and moving to Office Associate in 2013. Prior to working in Extension, Cindy worked in banking for 20 years. Coming from a banking background, she enjoys the financial part of her job. Cindy takes pride in the work she does as an Office Associate. Some of her responsibilities include business office procedures and serving as part of the office stewardship team, as well as supporting the 4-H and Agricultural and Natural Resource programs in Brown County. Cindy is proud to say that she is part of the vision, mission, and values of OSU Extension and is honored to be the recipient of the 2022-2023 Special Recognition award